lkakjh.blogg.se

Motherboard fan controller
Motherboard fan controller






motherboard fan controller

Since they must move more air through the same area of space, fans will become more noisy.įans installed in a PC case can produce noise levels of up to 70 dB. The byproduct of increased heat generation is that the fan(s) need to move increasing amounts of air and thus need to be more powerful.

motherboard fan controller

Power supplies needed forced cooling, and power supply fans also circulated cooling air through the rest of the PC with the ATX standard. Processors in most early x86-based computers, up to some of the early 486s, did not need active ventilation. Heat production varies with system load, where periods of compute-intensive activity generate much more heat than the idle time does. Computers emit this electrical power as heat generated by all major components. Need for fan control Īs modern PCs grow more powerful so do their requirements for electrical power. This is commonly accomplished by the motherboards having hardware monitoring circuitry, which can be configured by the end-user through BIOS or other software to perform fan control. In computers, various types of computer fans are used to provide adequate cooling, and different fan control mechanisms balance their cooling capacities and noise they generate. At the top of the case is a fan controller.įan control is the management of the rotational speed of an electric fan. I don't mean to exceed the scope of this forum and I'll keep on the topic of MSI Intel Motherboards here, but I thought I'd organize my thoughts a bit and ask a few questions that you might be able to answer.Full-tower computer cases may contain multiple cooling fans. If I have six fans outside those on the GPU, two of which are mounted on the radiator of the AIO cooler (I believe the AIO's pump and AIO radiator fans occupy their own headers, correct?), does this mean that I will need to purchase a fan controller in order to control the speed of all six? It appears that the z690-a has 5 SYS_FAN headers.

motherboard fan controller

With solution B there is no speed control available and the fans run at 100% all the time, correct? Sorry again for the unfamiliarity, I purchased this pc prebuilt and it's been a while since I built my last one so I'm being a bit cautious with things.Īfter reading up on the topic it's my understanding that fans generally plug into either: A.) the motherboard, B.) the PSU, or C.) a fan hub/controller which then plugs into the motherboard.Īs the SYS_FAN headers on the motherboard are empty, I have to assume mine is using solution B.








Motherboard fan controller